First Try at Bread Baking

First try at the idea of what I would do when I retired. A bit late but not too bad

This was “Italian Bread” from an old cookbook to which I added a bit of olive oil, thus, according to the book, making it french bread. It was pretty good, though I didn’t roll the loaf together tightly enough. I hope I didn’t burn out the mixer by kneading it with the dough hook.
Next time I will try a whole grain bread adapted from a recipe used by Marilee that we used to use to make bread for back packing. Any recipe suggestions welcome.

About bruce wright

Professor Emeritus of Political Science
This entry was posted in Cooking, etc. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First Try at Bread Baking

  1. bruceewright says:

    This week I tried a seeded Jewish rye to go with home-made pastrami. I made one from a recipe that created a sandwich bread. Not what I wanted; too soft. Will try again when I find a better recipe for a more deli-type bread.

Leave a Reply

