Raw Milk Yogurt

Today I am trying to make yogurt in the most simple manner I can think of. I am using, as usual, raw milk. But this time, unlike in earlier attempts inspired by Carlene Sanchez at xxxicanana’s webblog <a
I added about half a pint of raw cream to a quart of raw milk and about a quarter of a cup of old yogurt, half my old stuff and half Brown Cow cream on top. I heated it in a sterilized glass jar by simply emerging it in hot water from the tap at about 120 degrees. When the mixture reached 110 degrees i submerged the jar in very slightly warmer water in the bottom of a styrofoam cooler. I intend to let it sit for about 12 hours. From the recipes on read on the net I think I will get a very thin yogurt. If the enemies of raw milk are right perhaps my wife and I will get sick and maybe even die. But I doubt it. I will report on the results tomorrow if I am still alive and well.
Carlene's site:

http://xxxicana.wordpress.com

(I can’t seem to figure out how to put the link here.)

About bruce wright

Professor Emeritus of Political Science
This entry was posted in Cooking, etc. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Raw Milk Yogurt

  1. Angela Trumbauer says:

    So, did it turn out?

    • bruce wright says:

      Yeah. I also tried again, this time never heating it above 110 and putting it in a jar inside a large pot of water in my oven on very low. I had to adjust temperature several times. It was really good this time though a bit too liquid. I am thinking about either leaving out the cream or adding some dry non-fat milk.

Leave a Reply

